Kendrick Lamar – Lay Down In Swimming Pools (Mutya, Keisha & Siobhan Cover)


One of the most anticipated comebacks finally happened – with the UK trio Sugababes (Siobhan Donaghy, Mutya Buena, Keisha Buchanan) spending some days in the studio of Blood Orange (Devonté Hynes) from New York. As ridiculuous as it may sound, they actually recorded this cover of Kendrick Lamar’s smash hit ‘Swimming Pools (Drank)’ just for fun at the end of their session. The result, regardless of how you want to look at it, is spectacular. They focussed much more on harmonics, but maintained the distinctive beat of the original. Hynes added some orchestral support afterwards and eventually managed to raise the bar of production quality even higher. You might think the same as me after hearing this tune for the first time: ‘One listen isn’t sufficient at all. It clearly deserves much more!’

I wanna stay, I wanna go, round again / Already been here too many times before
And I wanna play, a piece of me stay, power to blame / To wanna bend here it defies the law
And I wanna play, it’s spherical gold, now again / Already been here too many times before
And I’m gonna pay, a piece of me stay, pounds of shake / Gotta hold a man here, it decries the fame

When I lay down you can bend / I have found what I wanna be
And all around where I trip / Are all the sounds that I found for the luck on me
It’s so profound and you can beg / That I have felt what I wanna feel
I’m all alone, in every breath / All around now my back … from the leave

It’s back for the ways, back for the place, pause the thing / Don’t wanna way they stay is…
And I’ve got a face that I can show not again / You’re already seen it more too many times for sure
Now I got a space, where I can lay, down again / Already laid here too many times on love
And I’ve got a place, full of the race, power to blame / To wanna bend here it defies the law

Way you baby sitting only 2-3 shots / I’ma show you how to turn it on notch
When she get a pool full of liquor then you dive in / a pool full of liquor then you dive in
I weave a few bottles then I push… / All the boys wanna play baywatch
I got a pool full of liquor and they dive in / pool full of liquor and I dive in

Swimming Pools

– Featured image courtesy of Alexa Din Nou from Romania